Also visit the Museum of Family History.




   Visit                  Exhibitions                    Collections                  Research                  Learning                  About                  Site Map                  Contact Us                  Support




The Forward Vacation Follies

August 24, 1938



You will have a year of laughs!

The great laugh night!

"Forverts" Yiddish Follies

Today, Wednesday evening
at the Public Theatre, between 2nd Avenue and 4th Street.

An evening of great entertainment.

The most important stage and radio artists will amuse you.
Interesting, original sketches especially written especially for the production.
A rich, musical program from famous signers and composers.

The original sketches that will be performed at this event:

  • "The Congress of the Aryans," by M. Osherowitch.

  • "The Father Takes the Mother," by Zalmen Zylbercweig.

  • "We Save Jews," by Chaim Ehrenreich.

  • "Maurice Schwartz Distributes Roles," by L. Kesner.

B. Vladeck, Master of Ceremonies
Mark Schweid, Director

The purpose of the production, which everyone knows, is to send several hundred poor, Jewish children for several weeks on a free vacation to a summer camp.


Get your tickets today!

Prices: $1.00 to $2.50.


Buy at the "Forward" offices and at the box-office of the Public Theatre.



The great artist slate that will take part in the Vacation Follies:

Benny Adler, Celia Adler, Claire Barry, Merna Barry, Wolfe Barzell, Jacob Ben-Ami,  Jacob Bergreen, Louis Bockshitzky, Misha Boodkin, Joseph Buloff, Izidore Casher, Abe Dorf, Judel Dubinsky, Adolph Erber, Itzik Feld, Misha Fiszon, Flora Freiman, Berta Gerstin, Nathan Goldberg, Reuben Goldberg, Rose Goldberg, Wolf Goldfaden,  Gustave Goldstein, Louis Goldstein, Irving Honigman, Jacob Jacobs, Juanita Hall Singers, Luba Kadison, Ben Zion Katz, Solomon Krause, Isidore Lash, Philip Laskowsky, Aaron Lebedeff, Lucy Levin, Julius Nathanson, Alexander Olshanetsky, Moishe Oysher, Jan Peerce, David Popper, Seymour Rechtzeit, Gerta Rosen, Michael Rosenberg, Menachem Rubin, Joseph Rumshinsky, M.B. Samuylow, Zvi Scooler, Sholom Secunda, Leon Seidenberg, Isidore Shuchatt, Morris Siegel, Abe Sincoff, Philip Singer, Morris Strassberg, Isabel Walters, Florence Weiss ,Louis Weisberg, Simon Wolf, Nicholas Zaslavsky and Bennie Zeidman.







Copyright Museum of the Yiddish Theatre. All rights reserved.